Canterbury Golf Club

Founded in 1921 and designed by Herbert Strong , Canterbury Golf Club has been nationally recognized as one of the top 100 golf courses in the U.S. The clubs rich history dates back to the 1932 Western Open and includes the 1973 PGA Championship won by Jack Nicklaus for his 14th major breaking Bobby Jones’ career major titles record.

One of two clubs in the US to have hosted the five men’s rotating majors; The US Open, PGA Championship, US Senior Open, US Amateur Championship, and Senior PGA Championship. Starting in 2016 the club hosted the Tour Finals for three consecutive years.

The list of Championships and Champions hosted by Canterbury Golf Club speaks volumes to our heritage and legacy. While at Canterbury guests bare witness to the historic pictures, trophies, and golf memorabilia dating back to our origin.

List of Champions

1932 Western Open – Sir Walter Hagen
1937 Western Open – Ralph Guldahl
1940 US Open – Lawson Little
1946 US Open – Lloyd Mangrum
1964 US Amateur – William “Bill” Campbell
1973 PGA Championship – Jack Nicklaus
1979 US Amateur – Mark O’Meara
1983 Senior T.P.C. – Miller Barber
1984 Senior T.P.C. – Arnold Palmer
1985 Senior T.P.C. – Arnold Palmer
1986 Senior T.P.C. – Chi Chi Rodriguez
1996 US Senior Open – Dave Stockton
2009 Senior PGA Championship – Michael Allen

Canterbury Golf Club scorecard